Governor General confers awards at Investiture Ceremony

Ambassador of Spain to St. Kitts-Nevis Presents Credentials
February 7, 2018
His Excellency travelled to Nevis and attended the Police Constable Awards
March 12, 2018

His Excellency The Governor-General Sir S.W. Tapley Seaton GCMG, CVO, QC, JP will hold an Investiture at Government House, St.Kitts on Wednesday 21st February, 2018 at 10.00 am.

During the Ceremony which will be held at Government House, His Excellency will confer the following Awards:

Recipients of the Companion of The Star of Merit (C.S.M.):

  1.  Mr. Jacques Cramer for his contribution to Commerce and Public Service.
  2.  Mrs. Agnes Morton for her contribution to Education and Voluntary Service.
  3. Mr. Arthur Evelyn for his contribution to Public Service and Community Activism.
  4. Mr. Calvin Farier for his contribution to Education and Public Service
  5. Mr. Melvin Edwards for his contribution to Culture/Local, Regional & International Credit Unions.

Recipients of the Medal of Honour (MH):

  1. Mrs. Olvis Dyer for her contribution to Education and Community Service
  2. Mr. Samuel Powell for his contribution to Agriculture and Music
  3. Mr. Elmo Liburd for his contribution to Education and Public Service

Commending the recipients of the National Awards, Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris said they exemplified a sustained commitment to the development of the country.

Prime Minister Harris stated, “Today’s Investiture is a culmination of your many years of devoted service, outstanding commitment and leadership in your respective areas of service and expertise. In honouring you, we also pay our respects to those who stood with and by you and allowed you the space, time and support to serve our country faithfully and loyally.”

According to the Prime Minister, the awardees had placed the country above self and were shining examples of the remarkable things that could be done by dedicated individuals.

Also in attendance at Wednesday’s investiture ceremony were Acting Deputy Governor-General for Nevis, Her Honour Marjorie Morton CSM; St. Kitts and Nevis’ only living National Hero, Dr. The Right Excellent and Right Honourable Sir Kennedy Simmonds, as well as members of the Federal Cabinet.